Pecan Sticky Buns

I completely missed last week’s Tuesdays with Dorie. I knew what the recipe was, and I posted the first one of the month on time, but for some reason, I had the wrong date in my head. I thought, and had planned out the time in my schedule to make these this week (for Tuesday the 22nd), and then realized less than 24 hours before that I had been thinking of the wrong date. Ooops!

So here they are. A week late.

I have to say, my patience was tested with making the brioche dough. It seemed as though all I was ever doing was figuring out all of the rising time involved. Start to finish, the entire recipe took me two days to complete. Other than the fact that you really had to plan ahead with this recipe, it wasn’t horribly difficult to make or assemble. Even making the brioche dough wasn’t as bad as I was expecting!

I only made a half batch of this recipe, as I was a bit worried about my mixer dealing with a full batch of brioche dough. Plus, pastries and sweet breakfast items, in general, are pretty much my favorite type of dessert and sweet ever. So half a batch meant that I didn’t have to worry about eating 14 sticky buns. Other people in my house weren’t so happy about it though. My mom was very opinionated about the fact that I’ve made full batches of things that we haven’t been crazy about, and the first recipe of the book that we absolutely love, I only make half a batch.

But, we loved these! Loved! I don’t often say that about many desserts that I make, so it’s a high honor. With how much baking I do, and how many new recipes I try, there aren’t many that impress my family. I’ll definitely be making these again, although it’ll only be for a special occasion.

If you’re looking for the recipe, check out our host’s for this recipe. Here’s the recipe for Pecan Sticky Buns and the Brioche dough recipe (which was used for the buns)- thanks Lynn!.

2 thoughts on “Pecan Sticky Buns

Leave a Reply

